Quilting

Working on it Wednesday: April 26

I didn’t post a WOIW for last week because, honestly, it would just have been a repeat of the previous week as I had made NO progress at all. I was waiting on my brand new Juki TL-2000 QI to be delivered so I could start machine quilting!

It did arrive and I am now HOOKED on machine quilting! I’m not very good at it yet, but I am having a blast practicing. I love the look of a machine quilted project and hand quilting was always my least-favorite part of the whole process. Now, the machine quilting is my favorite part.

So, here is what I am currently working on and a project I finished.

 

20170426_120818Lilo snuck into the picture, he always has to be the center of attention.
20170426_120836
This is the quilt top progress I have made on my disappearing hourglass quilt. I decided that instead of making a full quilt out of it, I would make it into a wall hanging instead. We need something above our couch so I sized this one to fit perfectly above it. I have a beautiful blue floral border to add, which I am planning on doing this afternoon,  and then I am going to machine quilt it and add a dowel to the back. I ended up having to size the squares down so much that I lost the hourglass shapes between the blocks, which I was super bummed out about. I did learn about cutting blocks and squaring them up, so next time I think I will have a better outcome. Oh well, I still like this one a lot and still plan to use it above our couch!

20170426_120920
This is the finished baby boy quilt I had basted last WOIW. I LOVE the finished quilt! I quilted spirals on each pinwheel, double straight lines on each frame, and swirls and loops on the white border. I used the bird backing fabric for the binding and I love how it turned out. I think it really pulls out all of the colors in the pinwheels and really flows the front into the back.

20170426_120956Here is the finished back of the quilt.

 

I have some more ideas that I want to start, and I, of course, need to make some progress on my baby girl quilt and the heart quilt, but that requires a run to JoAnn’s and I just have not felt like it lately. Hopefully, I will by next Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

